New Zealand vs Australia 1st T20: David and Marsh Lead Aus to Victory by 6 Wickets – Match Highlights

Catch the thrilling highlights of the New Zealand vs Australia 1st T20 clash where Mitchell Marsh and Tim David powered Australia to a remarkable 6-wicket triumph over New Zealand at Sky Stadium, Wellington. The match, held on February 21, 2024, witnessed an intense battle between the two cricketing giants.


In an electrifying showdown at Sky Stadium, Wellington, Australia’s captain, Mitchell Marsh, alongside Tim David, orchestrated a stunning victory over New Zealand in the 1st T20 International match of the series. Mitchell Marsh’s unbeaten 72 runs and his pivotal role in steering the Australian innings earned him the well-deserved ‘Player of the Match’ title.

Key Moments:

Australia’s Dominant Chase:

Chasing a challenging target of 216 runs, Australian batters displayed exceptional resilience and determination. Despite early setbacks, including the dismissals of Travis Head and David Warner, Mitchell Marsh anchored the innings with remarkable support from Glenn Maxwell and Josh Inglis. Tim David’s unbeaten 31 runs proved crucial in securing Australia’s victory.

New Zealand’s Resilient Bowling Efforts:

Although New Zealand’s bowlers, led by Mitchell Santner, showcased commendable performances, they were unable to contain Australia’s relentless pursuit of the target. Lockie Ferguson and Adam Milne also made significant contributions with crucial breakthroughs.

High-scoring Duel:

The clash between New Zealand and Australia promised high-octane action right from the outset. With both teams boasting formidable lineups, the match lived up to expectations, delivering thrilling moments for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Upcoming Encounters:

As the T20 World Cup draws near, both teams are keen to fine-tune their strategies and solidify their positions in the international arena. With the series finely poised, the subsequent matches are expected to be equally riveting, setting the stage for an enthralling showdown between the cricketing powerhouses.


The New Zealand vs Australia 1st T20 encounter showcased the essence of T20 cricket, combining skill, strategy, and sheer determination. As the series progresses, anticipation mounts, promising fans an exhilarating spectacle on the cricket field.

Playing XIs:

New Zealand XI: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Mitch Santner (c), Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

Australia XI:

Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh (c), Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Tim David, Matt Short, Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

21 Feb 2024, 03:28:20 PM IST

New Zealand vs Australia Live Score Updates, 1st T20: Nz vs Aus, Final scorecard

New Zealand Batting:

Rachin Ravindra 68
Devon Conway 63
Finn Allen 32

Australia Bowling:

Mitchell Marsh 1/21(3)
Mitchell Starc 1/39(4)
Pat Cummins 1/43(4)

Australia Batting:

Mitchell Marsh 72*
David Warner 32
Tim David 31*
Glenn Maxwell 25

New Zealand Bowling:

Mitchell Santner 2/42(4)
Lockie Ferguson 1/23(4)
Adam Milne 1/53(4)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *